Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

The Glorian podcast includes lectures about practical spirituality, consciousness, psychology, philosophy, gnosis, religion, kabbalah, meditation, sacred sexuality, and much more.

This podcast is a free public service produced by Glorian Publishing, a non-profit organization, and made possible by the donations of those who have recognized the value of these teachings and who wanted to share them with you.

Apr 2, 2016

The meditator ascends the nine stages of meditative concentration (serenity, shamatha) by recognizing the two essential features of concentration, recognizing the obstacles that impede it, and applying the antidotes. 

At this stage of the course, students begin a new practice: concentration combined with visualization, and learn how to recognize: 

Distinguishing Features of Concentration: 

  1. vivid intensity, intense mental clarity 
  2. stability, one-pointedness 

Faults That Prevent Serenity: 

  1. Laziness 
  2. Forgetting the instructions 
  3. Not recognizing agitation and dullness 
  4. Not applying antidotes 
  5. Over-applying antidotes